Feast Your Eyes on This

Standard

When people learn I observe a vegan lifestyle, they often assume my diet, and life, are difficult and devoid of joy. But that assumption couldn't be further from reality.

I'd like to brag about what a sacrifice this lifestyle is and how much discipline and determination it takes each day, but I can't, because being vegan is easy. This is true even in a country where I don't have access to fancy faux meats, cheeses, nutritional yeast, vital wheat gluten, etc. I don’t need to eat fancy foods to be vegan. My diet is simply based on a yummy combination of grains, beans, vegetables, nuts, seeds and fruit and I don't have to be an amazing cook to pull it all together either.

Plus, anyone who has seen my transition from an omnivore to vegan lifestyle can attest to the transformation. My life is infinitely more joyful because of the compassionate, sustainable, healthful and spiritually fulfilling choices I make daily. So, whenever I have the opportunity, I like to share with others just how easy and rewarding this lifestyle can be. Today, I'm sharing recipes from our delectable vegan Thanksgiving feast. All the ingredients can be found at any grocery.

The Best Pumpkin Muffins – These are aptly named – super moist and spicy. What a delicious way to start the day.

Sweet Potato Biscuit – Perfect with Earth Balance Butter!

Classic Nut Roast – Nut roast has a hearty texture and it is as delicious as it is nutritious. I used cashews, walnuts and almonds but choose your favorite nuts. Basting is essential to keeping the roast moist. I basted every 10 minutes. I suggest serving it with tart cranberry sauce like the one below.

Cranberry Sauce – This is not the cranberry sauce I normally prepare but I couldn't find fresh cranberries until Thanksgiving day. Since I didn't have my recipe on hand, I just brought them home and made the sauce with what I had on hand. This recipe was really simple but so good. There is no reason to buy canned. (Scroll down on PDF to find the recipe).

The Best Vegan Green Bean Casserole – Again, aptly named! This is, hands down, the best green bean casserole I've had, vegan or not. Obviously, I didn't have sherry wine this year so I substituted with apple cider vinegar and really didn't notice a difference from past years.

Fluffy Mashed Potatoes – This is my go-to mashed potato recipe. I added some fresh roasted garlic.

Roasted Garlic Gravy – This is a simple yet flavorful recipe. There may be better vegan gravy recipes out there but this didn't require specialized ingredients.
Apple Crisp – I used Granny Smith apples because those were the only baking apples available. It was plenty sweet and the crumble topping was to die for.

Finally, the day before Thanksgiving I made a spicy Morrocan Pumpkin Hummus that I absolutely have to share. It was a bit spicy, which I prefer, but, if you don't, just leave out the cayenne pepper.

Now, stop reading and get cooking!

 

Leave a Reply

